You want to visit Rome differently? So why not go door to door? In the Eternal City has many who were as many points of entry into the walled enclosure, built to impress visitors.
Some of the doors that still exist, some are in better condition than others and worth a visit:
Flaminia gate (Porte del Popolo)
Better known today as the Porte del Popolo, the Gate Flaminia is probably one of the most beautiful gates of Aurelian Wall at Rome. Consular channels the famous Via Flaminia, which still exists, it takes its name. Commissioned by Pope Pius IV to Michelangelo, it was finally Nanni di Baccio Bigio who built the exterior facade, completed in 1565. Bigio was openly inspired by the Arch of Titus (Arco di Tito) located near the Colosseum, a work commissioned by the Emperor of the same name.
La Porte del Popolo is easily accessible and conveniently located between the Vatican, Villa Borghese and the center of the historic city. You can get there by underground line A, Flaminio stop. Take the opportunity to discover the charming Piazza del Popolo, with its obelisk. Here is the Basilica of Santa Maria del Popolo, which houses two major works by Caravaggio: The Crucifixion of St. Peter and the Conversion of St Paul.
Door Pinciana
Pinciana Gate, which takes its name from the hill on which it stands, pens Pinciana is an important junction connecting the Villa Borghese to Piazza Barberini through the Via Veneto. It is easier to get to by car than on foot. Its construction was ordered by the Emperor Honorius in 403. In the medieval tradition, this gate is also known as Door Belisaria, referring to General Belisario, one of the greatest figures of Byzantine history, according to legend, once grown old, blind and poor, begging here.
The Porte Pinciana, you can follow on foot the famous Via Veneto, made famous by the film La Dolce Vita by Federico Fellini, to Piazza Barberini to admire the fountain of the Triton (Fontana's Tritone) by Bernini.
Porta San Giovanni
This is the Basilica San Giovanni in Laterano (St. John Lateran), the official ecclesiastical seat Bishop of Rome and the Pope, who gave his name to the door. Built as open to the south of Italy, San Giovanni Gate was inaugurated in 1574. There is little exact information about the author of this monument, known simply as "the famous architect Giacomo" in the references at the time. Roman popular tradition speaks of Giacomo Della Porta, who died suddenly of a surfeit of melons and watermelons in this very place, while returning from a trip to the Castelli Romani area. Other legends refer to the Porta San Giovanni, including that of the night of St John (Notte di San Giovanni), held June 23
According to popular history, that night, grasslands Lateran - which is built on the door - is the site of a Sabbath organized by the ghost of Herodias, Conspiracy of the beheading of John the Baptist by her husband, Herod Antipas. The Romans organized parties for the ghost hunt at the sound of rattles and fireworks. It was also an opportunity for reconciliation by the ingestion of slugs with horns symbolize discord. Slugs take with them in the stomach all the resentment and disagreement accumulated over the years.
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment